Make srikumar as your homepage

< >

Please check "WHAT IS NEW?"  to see new pages we are adding. Enjoy

CAD Free stuff | NRI | Jobs | Home pages Education | Movies | Games | Music | Indian Music | A  to Z topics | Science| Job Posting | What is New? |

 Engineering| Alumni | Health | Sports |Tourism |Computers | Business | Oman 123| 3D perspectives | Chat Free downloads |Shopping | Family | Comments
Articles| Advertising | Cooking | Humour | Interior Design| Marketing |Toastmasters

Art of Living
Feng Shui
< >
Question papers
House plans
Interior Design

L.Srikumar Pai
B.Sc( Engg.), MIE, MIWWA, MICI
Civil Engineer & CAD Specialist
Web master

See my 3d perspectives using AutoCAD & 3DS Max.
3D Album


The Hockey World Cup

IPL | Cricket | Football FIFA World cup | Commonwealth games | Asian Beach games | Hockey world cup| Wimbledon

Hockey World Cup 2010: complete tournament guide

 Women Hockey| Player profiles | Photo gallery | Results of games | Indian players


The Hockey World Cup is an international  competition organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). The tournament was started in 1971. It is held every four years.

The 2006 Hockey World Cup was held at the War Steiner HockeyPark, Germany .Germany won for the second time, defeating Australia 4–3 in the final. The  next Hockey World Cup in 2010 will be held in India.

The Hockey World Cup was first conceived by Pakistan's Air Marshal Nur Khan. . The FIH decided that the inaugural World Cup would be held in October 1971, in Pakistan.

However, due to the intense political climate between Pakistan and India, the FIH decided to move the tournament elsewhere. In March 1971, the FIH decided to move the first Hockey World Cup to the Real Club de Polo grounds in Barcelona, Spain, which was considered a neutral and peaceful European site.

The first three tournaments were held every two years. Since 1982, the tournament has been held every four years.

The Hockey World Cup consists of a qualification stage and a final tournament stage

Five countries have dominated the event's history. Pakistan is the most successful team, having won the tournament four times. The Netherlands have won three titles, and Germany has won two titles. India and Australia have each won the tournament once.

Hockey World Cup 2010 in India February 28 to March 13 2010


The 2010 Hockey World Cup will be the twelfth installment of the Men's Hockey World Cup. The  International Hockey Federation (FIH) announced that the championship would be held in India, taking place over two weeks from Feb 28 to March 13, 2010 at New Delhi's Dhyan Chand National Stadium.

This is the first time that India would be hosting the World Cup (men) on synthetic surface. The only previous occasion when India conducted the mega event was in Bombay in 1982, which was played on grass.

Hero Honda Motors Ltd, the world's largest two-wheeler manufacturer will be the title sponsor of International Hockey’s showcase event – The FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2010.
The prestigious, once-in-four-year extravaganza will be officially named 'HERO HONDA FIH WORLD CUP 2010'.

Pools were separated by the FIH on December 15,2009 for the 2010 Men's Hockey World Cup in New Delhi, India Here are the teams in two pools :

Pool A Pool B
 New Zealand
 South Africa

History of Hockey and FIH

The roots of hockey are buried deep in antiquity. Historical records show that a crude form of hockey was played in Egypt 4,000 years ago, and in Ethiopia around 1,000 BC. Various museums offer evidence that a form of the game was played by Romans and Greeks, and by the Aztec Indians in South America several centuries before Columbus landed in the New World. The modern game of hockey evolved in England in the mid-18th century, primarily around schools. 

The first Olympic Hockey Competition for men was held in London in 1908 with England, Ireland and Scotland competing separately. After having made its first appearance in the 1908 Games, hockey was subsequently dropped from the 1912 Stockholm Games, and reappeared in 1920 in Antwerp before being omitted again in Paris in 1924. The Paris organisers refused to include hockey on the basis that the sport had no International Federation. 

Hockey had made its first steps toward an international federation when in 1909 the Hockey Association in England and the Belgium Hockey Association agreed to mutually recognise each other to regulate international hockey relations. The French Association followed soon after, but this was not considered sufficient. 

Hockey took its most important step forward in 1924 when the International Hockey Federation, the world governing body for the sport, was founded in Paris under the initiative of Frenchman, Paul Léautey. Mr. Léautey, who would become the first President of the FIH, was motivated to action following hockey's omission from the program of the 1924 Paris Games. 

Mr. Léautey called together representatives from seven national federations to form the sport's international governing body, the Fédération Internationale de Hockey sur Gazon. The six founding members, which represented both men's and women's hockey in their countries, were Austria, Belgium, Czechoslovakia, France, Hungary, Spain and Switzerland. 

The women's game developed quickly in many countries and in 1927, the International Federation of Women's Hockey Associations (IFWHA) was formed. The founding members were Australia, Denmark, England, Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, the United States and Wales. After celebrating their respective Golden Jubilees - the FIH in 1974 and the IFWHA in 1980 - the two organisations came together in 1982 to form the FIH. 

The growth of the International Hockey Federation from its early beginnings has been most impressive. Denmark joined in 1925, the Dutch men in 1926, Turkey in 1927, and in 1928 - the year of the Amsterdam Olympics - Germany, Poland, Portugal and India joined. India's addition marked the membership of the first non-European country. 

By 1964, there were already 50 countries affiliated with the FIH, as well as three continental associations - Africa, Pan America and Asia - and in 1974, there were 71 members. Today, the International Hockey Federation consists of five Continental associations - Europe and Oceania have since joined - and 127 member associations.

Today, the work of the International Hockey Federation is accomplished through the efforts of the FIH President, Honorary Secretary General and Treasurer, working together with an Executive Board,  13 Committees, and the professional staff in its Lausanne headquarters. 

In many ways, the FIH serves as the 'guardian' of the sport. It works in co-operation with both the national and continental organisations to ensure consistency and unity in hockey around the world. The FIH not only regulates the sport, but is also responsible for its development and promotion so as to guarantee a secure future for hockey.

( Courtesy: FIH )


Site Search
Real Estate 
What is New?
< >
Free MP3
AutoCAD Blocks
3D Max textures
Printer Drivers
Entrance Test
IAS Topper
Public Speaking


We have provided links for the public use and not responsible for the contents of any site.

About us | Submit your site |Suggestions | A to Z topics |Advertising | Auctions | Alumni | Arts | Astrology | Animals | BusinessCooking CAD| Chat | Computers 
Environment | Education | Engineering | Family | Freebies | Fun | Games | Health | India | Jobs | Jokes |Kerala | Kids | NRI News |   Movies | Music | Medicine | Photography | Religion |
 Reference | Science | Shopping | Sports | Tenders | Tourism | Vaastu shastra | Women | World | Zoo
Copyright 2009-2010